Quick Camping Update: Alive & Well.

Leave a comment

September 19, 2015 by kmwelden

So I did indeed go camping last weekend. I was not eaten by a bear.

I went to Rocky Mountain National Park, and the aspens are juuuust about to change. I like to say things like, “the aspens are just about to change,” because it makes me sound Coloradoan. And like I have a damn clue when the aspens will actually change other than physically observing this. Like here:

IMG_2259

Or Googling, “when do the aspens change?” Which I did this morning.

Highlights:

I learned how one would (theoretically) pitch a tent. I did not do the actual tenting, but in a jam, I feel pretty confident that I could do it now.

IMG_2260

I went for a (short) hike with a beer. Serious hikers do that all the time. Right?

IMG_2266

I learned how to skip a rock! This has eluded me for 24 years (much like diving, which is genuinely a story for another day. I cannot do it, and it drives me nuts), but after at least 100 tries, I think I have the technique down. I would estimate that I can successfully skip a rock 1/10 tries now. A vast improvement over the complete inability to do anything other than hurl a rock straight into a creek.

IMG_2272

Went on another (short) hike. This time it was with coffee (because who drinks water? Schmucks.). Scrambled up some rocks to find the best spot to drink said coffee. It was here.

IMG_2300

IMG_2295

And here is a visual representation of how I feel about sleeping on the ground:

IMG_2278

HELP.

Overall 3.5/5; would camp again.

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

