Five Things You Should Know Since We Last Spoke

2

June 1, 2014 by kmwelden

Today is June 1, so naturally, I have made all sorts of realistic and unrealistic goals for the month of June, one of which is blogging again. My year of service is almost over, so my 50 hour workweeks are almost a thing of the past. Plus I miss writing. Plus I’m about to go from very structured days to complete anarchy and a ton of free time, which makes me extremely nervous, and sometimes writing makes me feel very stable (when it’s not making me feel dangerously unhinged). 

So, instead of attempting to catch you all up in great detail about all of the changes that have happened since we last spoke, I’ll give you the highlights:

1. I got a job! City Year ends next week, and beginning August 1 I’ll be working for a nonprofit that connects struggling elementary-school readers with community volunteers for one-on-one tutoring sessions. I have the official-sounding title of “site coordinator” (I’m hoping this will involve having my own business card), and I’ll be the point person at an urban elementary school in Denver. I’m extremely excited, and if you ever find yourself in the Denver area with some time on your hands– let me know! Come volunteer for an hour a week and teach a cute child to read. If you want, I can even tell them that you’re a princess or an FBI agent something. 

2. I ran a half marathon. This was an extremely hypocritical move on my part, considering I have been an extremely vocal advocate of the sedentary lifestyle (not to mention this blog post about how much I hate everything about running). However, I came out of retirement for some unclear reasons, and ended up completing a half marathon two weekends ago. I feel that it is also important to mention that my mom also ran, and she kicked my ass by MILES while also coming in 4th in her age group. The doctors tell my mom she might live until she is 110, and I wouldn’t be surprised if she is still kicking my ass then. 

3. I’m moving apartments. I have always said that I’ll know I’ve made it in the world when I have a refrigerator with a water/ice machine in the front. WELL GUESS WHAT, PEOPLE? Beginning June 15, I will have officially made it in this cold, cruel world. This is ignoring several glaring facets of my life that say otherwise, but I’m going to go with my gut on this one. My new apartment is stunning and way nicer than I should be able to afford (maybe way nicer than I can actually afford, but that’s neither here nor there). Regardless, I will stand on my GIANT balcony with my ice water that came from an ice machine built into the fridge and a glass that came out of an actual dishwasher and laugh at all the peasants below. 

4. The Lady Grizzlies almost made it to playoffs. As you may remember, I began coaching middle school soccer a few months ago. It was honestly a hilarious, frustrating, and rewarding experience. If you ever catch me in person I will be more than happy to regale you with stories of our trials and tribulations, and how when you’re a middle school coach, you have to accept that sometimes the middle of a game is an appropriate time for your players to eat Hot Cheetoes and drink Orange Crush, and that’s just something you’ll have to get used to. I could make a number of references to the movie Hardball here, but I’ll just stop and say my only regret is that I didn’t hire a film crew to document the entire thing. It was quite the show. 

5. As of last week, I have completed 1700 hours of national service. Considering I generally hate volunteering, I am proud to say that I spent this year volunteering through City Year and AmeriCorps. My service was… a number of adjectives are jumping through my mind. It was good and bad and long and short and hard and easy and draining and rewarding and a number of other contradictions. I think you know what I mean. It is going to be incredibly alarming on June 6 when I wake up and I don’t have to be at work at 7 AM to see 100 seventh graders who challenged/loved/hated/grew me every day and 10 team members who made coming to work a joy/privilege/challenge/pleasure. I grew a lot this year. A lot of it has to do with City Year. I’ll probably write more about that at some other point. 

The next couple weeks are going to be fraught with emotion (really– how the hell am I supposed to say goodbye to these kids?), and in the midst of that (cough, June 7, cough), I’ll be turning 23. As such, I’ve been doing far too much reflection lately. This has been one of the hardest years of my life, but it has also been one of my favorites. I’m grateful for everyone and everything that was a part of that, and I’m beyond excited to see where my 23rd year takes me. So I’m going to stop being so sentimental now and just say that you should expect to hear from me on this blog more often. If you don’t, please send me text messages telling me to write more and how you miss reading my funny and inspiring words. I basically thrive only on compliments. 

Also, I’m getting a bike for my birthday, so if you don’t hear from me, there’s always the likelihood that I’ve been taken out by a bus. So I’ll try to keep you posted. 

2 thoughts on “Five Things You Should Know Since We Last Spoke

  1. Kara says:

    omg #3. dead. please keep up with the blog. xoxo

    ps youre really pretty

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

