Seventh grade relationships 101

2

November 22, 2013 by kmwelden

Seventh grade is a weird time. I don’t know how many of you have spent a significant amount of time around a seventh grader, but things in that little brain of theirs are not working properly. Period.

I’ve recently been thinking about how some of these kids I see on a daily basis– the kids who are sleeping underneath desks in class, who can’t open their own oranges in the cafeteria, who aren’t really sure who Hitler is– will grow up to marry each other one day. That’s terrifying. Terrifying. And they will have children and jobs and I’m just thinking…… you don’t even know how to add positive and negative numbers. How are you going to build a LIFE?

It seems like right now EVERY one of my students are “dating” each other. Yesterday, one of my seventh grade girls let me in on all the relationship gossip, and it was fascinating. 

I don’t know if I just missed all of this in seventh grade (my mom was far too strict to let me date, and my canine teeth stuck out way too much for anyone to ever want to date me), but let me give you the cliff notes:

1. The longest running relationship at the middle school I work at is ten months long. Everyone is in awe over this couple.

2. It’s possible to go through a couple different boyfriends or girlfriends in a week. Shit happens, man. Seventh graders don’t take any shit. If you piss them off, they’re done. This could be a lesson for the rest of the world to take– preteens don’t waste time in relationships that are going no where. It’s on to the next one.

3. Talking in person is overrated. Notes are where it’s at. Twelve year olds get the art of the handwritten letter, and I admire that. I don’t admire their inability to write with proper grammar or spelling or without using stupid little smiley-faces, but that’s neither here nor there.

4. When it’s time to break up, seventh graders have no time for doing it in person. These are busy twelve-year-old people, and they’ll send their personal assistant (best friend) to do their bidding. For example, let’s say “Jose” doesn’t want to date “Victoria” anymore. Jose sends his best friend to tell Victoria’s best friend that it’s over. The best friend then tells Victoria that it’s over. Actually, I think this is pretty smart. That way, your best friend is the one who delivers you the break up blow and is there to pick up the pieces. I wish my best friend was the one to tell me that me and my ex-boyfriends were breaking up. It would have stopped me from saying/doing a lot of stupid things (sorry for backing into your car that one time, Andrew).

There’s so much I could tell you about seventh graders. They are at such a weird, finite, horrible little stage in life. They’re still innocent and young-seeming, but they have so much knowledge of this messed up world. It’s a weird dynamic, but I’m beginning to see that for all of the things they do that make me want to punch them in the face, they also have so much to offer me. They are wise and street smart and have a perspective on life I’ve never seen before.

So! This probably isn’t the last time you’ll here me discuss my life here at the middle school. I feel like every day is a treasure trove of little nuggets I wish I could keep in my head forever.

KW

 

2 thoughts on “Seventh grade relationships 101

  1. Adam B. says:

    I’m glad to see that things haven’t changed at all since 2002.

    And, of course, it was a pleasure to read.

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

