Home is where your books are

5

July 15, 2013 by kmwelden

Two very exciting things happened to me this week.

ONE: All eleven boxes of books I shipped from Myrtle to Colorado arrived via Media Mail. Thanks to my mom for spending a ton of money to ship those bad boys, but like I tried to tell her: “There is no way I can begin to live a functional and productive life in Denver without my books. All of them. In a place where I can see them at all times.”

If you don’t have a love affair with books, you might not understand this, but God, it’s true for me: home is where your books are.

Which brings me to my NEXT piece of exciting news (yes, I expect you all to be just as excited about this as I am)…… I bought the dream bookshelf I’ve ALWAYS wanted. I’ve spent my whole life without enough space for all of my treasures, and now I have one, and I cannot stop staring.

Hi there, beautiful. Ikea Hemnes Shelving Unit, you are mine forever.

Hi there, beautiful. Ikea Hemnes Shelving Unit, you are mine forever. 

Also exciting: there are sections!

Compilations and anthologies! "Wow, how boring can you be, Kaitlyn?" you might ask, but y'all i can't even STAND it.

Compilations and anthologies! “Wow, how boring can you be, Kaitlyn?” you might ask, but y’all i can’t even STAND it.

Barnes and Noble classics. In the interest of full disclosure: have read only one of these.  May or may not have been Alice in Wonderland.

Barnes and Noble classics. In the interest of full disclosure: have read only one of these. May or may not have been Alice in Wonderland.

Kid's/YA books

Kid’s/YA books

 

And the best girls I know, held up by the Wine Bible and the Kardashians, of course.

And the best girls I know, held up by the Wine Bible and the Kardashians, of course.

etc, etc, etc.

TL;DR– I love my bookshelf. Bye.

 

5 thoughts on “Home is where your books are

  1. Welcome to the neighborhood!

  2. Isley says:

    ** “Home is where your mom is”

  3. Maggie says:

    once again, adorable. and so glad that my vase made the cut 🙂

  4. mycuriouscreator says:

    What a lovely post! It’s hard for me to live without my books as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

