Netflix taste preferences. Or: why Netflix thinks I’m a serial killer?

2

March 28, 2013 by kmwelden

I just finished watching a great documentary that Netflix has practically been busting down my door to watch for months. It’s called Happy, and it was definitely worth finally getting to. I also watched it with my full attention, as I’ve decided I’m not getting enoughfrom my TV-watching, because I’m literally always on my phone (that sounds odd… not getting enough from my TV watching. But really, I love TV. So this is serious for me). But today after work I got in bed, hid my phone deep in the covers, and sunk in and watched it. I’m not very good at summary, so here’s the synopsis from the Netflix info: “Happy takes viewers on a journey from the swamps of Louisiana to the slums of Kolkata in search of what really makes people happy.” So here’s my short PSA for a really nice documentary. Watch, enjoy, let me know what you think.

happy-poster-2

Anyway, it appears Netflix was spot on that this was totally a movie I would enjoy. Of course, that made me wonder what else Netflix knows about me, so I started perusing the Taste Preferences section of my Netflix. Well, it’s not exactly my Netflix, but one I share with a friend. I’m far too poor to actually pay for these things. But anyway, the stuff “we” watch most often fall under these categories:

  • Cerebral
  • Controversial
  • Dark
  • Emotional
  • Feel good (decidedly all me)
  • Imaginative
  • Mind-bending
  • Quirky
  • Scary (definitely all Andrew)
  • Witty

Some of these are  nice adjectives; that’s cool that I watch cerebral, feel good movies. Some of it’s not so cool– like maybe you can find me in the corner watching dark, emotional, mind-bending movies and strangling cats on the weekends.  Overall, I think they have me pretty pegged down, though I do think there is an unfair omission of the absurd number of romantic comedies I watch.

Anyway, this is a short post. It’s Thursday, and I’ve got wine calling my name. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned so far, it’s that I use way too many exclamation points when I drink and blog. I can’t have people thinking I’m too exuberant… that would definitely ruin my image.

Love,

Kaitlyn

2 thoughts on “Netflix taste preferences. Or: why Netflix thinks I’m a serial killer?

  1. Katie says:

    Oh Kaitlyn! I love the blog, Aunt Ruth just forwarded it to me. I so wish we lived closer, because we could so hang out. Your words are so true and insightful. Keep writing!

    • kmwelden says:

      That is so nice! I do wish that my family was closer… That’s definitely something that’s lacking in my life!

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

