happy international day of happiness… wait, that’s a thing?

2

March 21, 2013 by kmwelden

I read a few places today that it was the United Nations’ first International Day of Happiness. I’m not usually one to observe “days” (unless it is food related), but I have a blog now, so why not?

Here I’m quoting from the USA Today, and I think this is really good stuff.

Writing for the Guardian, Nic Marks understands the reasoning of those who feel the U.N. should worry more about things like North Korea and Syria, but argues that “happiness is a serious 21st-century global issue,” with unhappiness breeding crime-filled neighborhoods and less productive businesses. “How on earth are we going to create political, economic, and social systems that support nine billion people to live in harmony with each other and the one planet we all share?”

What a beautiful thought. I’ll try not to get all mushy on you, but really, I feel like this is crucial.  Happy people make a happy world… a joyful world. I’m going to be honest with you, since I feel like we’re really great friends now, but I’m not exactly a ray of sunshine. That would be very misleading. I am misanthropic and unenthusiastic and more often than I’d like to admit, I can be just plain hateful. And all that is super lame. BUT I guess the good thing is that it’s never too late to change, and if I acknowledge the good things that happen to me, maybe I’ll start to recognize them more naturally.

So, in the spirit of this day, these are five things that made me happy today.

  1. I ordered a children’s book on Amazon called Can You Say Peace? and I’m going to use it to teach a lesson about peace to my mom’s special ed class. It’s part of a project for my Sociology of Peace class, but I’m actually happy to do it. And the book goes along with my lesson perfectly!
  2. I got to go out to breakfast with Andrew this morning before heading back to Charleston. Egg’s Up Grill’s honey-granola pancakes are the truth, people.
  3. It is Wednesday, which means a new episode of Criminal Minds is on tonight.
  4. I’m in the process of booking a flight to Denver in May so that I can go house-hunting! I’ve actually only been there once… for a couple hours, so this will be a very productive/scary/exciting thing. I know that as soon as I know where I’m living, this is all going to seem so much more real.
  5. My to-do list for the evening is almost all gone, so I can just lay here sans guilt and try and figure how, exactly, one is supposed to “blog.”

When in doubt, though, quote Dumbledore.

tumblr_lrt3lsvwjk1qjjkymo1_500

Love,

Kaitlyn

2 thoughts on “happy international day of happiness… wait, that’s a thing?

  1. maryemlee says:

    I just started Sociology of Peace with Reba Parker as an Express II class. I think it’s awesome and am feeling so inspired already after only 3 classes.

    • kmwelden says:

      Yeah that’s the one I’m in! She’s a little scatterbrained, but she is really sweet. I reallly like all of the documentaries we watch in there, too.

Leave a Reply

Dear Denver

I've been thinking so much about you...

Fatty McCupcakes

Rants, Ramblings, and Regrets

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

Erin Lyon

Writer, Lawyer, Connoisseur of Poor Decision-Making.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

thebaskination

Spawned by my trip to Iceland, this is a little window into how (and why) I do what I do

That's What She Read

Hear what She has to say about the latest books

we travel, some of us forever.

hard-wired for travel

City Year Denver

give a year. change the world.

Some Clever or Witty Title

I grew up riding the short bus and lived to tell the tale.

Taking the Lilongwe

wanderings in the warm heart of africa

Mesha D. Arant

Muscian. Artist. Photographer. Thinker. Christian. INFP.

Adventures in Denver and Beyond

Celebrating Denver, Colorado and the world beyond!

uprootfromoregon.com/

Curious Eater, Wholesome Cook

Queen of the Food Age

Exploring the world one bite at a time...

Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

